This Gazzag Thing…
I’m pretty sure that the entire blogging community (well, at least those on orkut) would have received invitations to join a new social networking site called Gazzag. Soon after he signed up on Gazzag, Ferrari sent a followup mail through orkut. What concerned me was that Gazzag asked the user for his/her orkut login and password, apparently to send invitations to all friends on orkut.
Now, I have a couple of points to chew on.
- Why should Gazzag, a competitor for orkut, ask for the orkut login details? What guarantee is there that Gazzag would not hack the account? Not only that, since orkut is most probably linked to your google/gmail account, how can I be sure that Gazzag is not reading my e-mail or posting to Google Groups using my account?
- Gazzag has a small mention that you can opt out of receiving the invitations by clicking a link in the invitation e-mail. I can count 5 links in each Gazzag invitation that I’ve received - 1 is a mailto link with the e-mail address of the person who has sent me the invite. The remaining 4 are all “Accept this invitation” style links. Now where did I put that opt-out link?
Call me paranoid, but I like to keep some semblance of my privacy intact. What do you think?
November 4th, 2006 at 11:21 am
Exactly, Gazzag is worst possible thing and people are crazy.What i do is to mark the word “Gazzag” on spam list so that i dont recieve any invitations.
November 4th, 2006 at 12:22 pm
[...] Nirenjan (Another Niranj in same post!!) wrote what i exactly felt about Gazzag and why i will never join it.Its again a hack network which steals your personal information and even your email. Check out what he has to say here .So a word of caution, never sign up in any online service that asks your mail ID(any existing account) and password to intimate your friends.Actually in TOS each service(be it yahoo or google) will mention clearly that dont issue use ID & password anywhere else which doesnt have their logo. [...]
November 6th, 2006 at 10:58 am
Exactlyyy… Thanks for the post
November 6th, 2006 at 11:05 am
[...] Gazzag steals your personal information like password and mail???? Read this post by nirenjan. Please dont give your existing username and password in any web site.. Thanks to nirenjan and logic [...]
November 29th, 2006 at 12:14 am
Hi Dude….I had more or less the same questions abt the authencity of Gazzag !!! Better to refrain from giving away ur UID & PWD to any third party. ….well wat’s happening in life ????? I am in Hyderabad now !
Ohhhh well, I hope u remember me… it’s venky from VelTech, ur buddy Kartik’s college Mate !!!
December 30th, 2006 at 10:09 am
[...] நிரஞ்சன் எழுதுகிறார்… I’m pretty sure that the entire blogging community (well, at least those on orkut) would have received invitations to join a new social networking site called Gazzag. Soon after he signed up on Gazzag, Ferrari sent a followup mail through orkut. What concerned me was that Gazzag asked the user for his/her orkut login and password, apparently to send invitations to all friends on orkut [...]
September 22nd, 2007 at 1:07 pm
HTTP://WWW.WATITI.COM
Hi,
Join me and my circle of friends at Watiti.com, an online social networking community that connects people from all over the world.
Free online dating, dating, matchmaking,online dating,dating service,personals,matchmaker,personal ads,service,relationships
Activities: Meet new people, share photos, create or attend events, post free classifieds, send free e-cards, listen music, read blogs, view videos, be part of a club, chat rooms, forum and much more!
I’ll see you there! Bring all your friends too!
HTTP://WWW.WATITI.COM